BC Liberal leadership candidate visits Vernon

Former transportation minister Todd Stone enters BC Liberal leadership race

Former transportation minister Todd Stone enters BC Liberal leadership race

With the B.C. legislature on a post-Thanksgiving break, B.C. Liberal leadership candidates are gearing up their efforts to sign up new members and convince party veterans they're the best choice to replace Christy Clark.

Stone has scheduled events in Surrey, Victoria and his hometown of Kamloops throughout the day. The launch was announced by Peter Fassbender, the former Langley City mayor who lost his seat in May to the NDP's Jagrup Brar, the incumbent he knocked off in 2013.

"He came into politics at the invite of the former premier as a friend of hers".

Former Surrey Mayor and federal Conservative MP Dianne Watts is also competing, along with lawyer and new MLA Michael Lee and Terrace businesswoman Lucy Sager. The party was reduced to a single seat on Vancouver Island, held by Parksville-Qualicum MLA Michelle Stilwell. BC Liberal Party leadership candidate Mike de Jong says he wants to "captain" the BC Liberals.

Party members will choose their new leader by online and telephone vote between February 1-3, 2018.

The deadline to renew or join the party in time to vote or to run for the leadership is Friday, Dec. 29, with the cost of a membership remaining at $10.

The next event is October 15 in Surrey, followed by events in Prince George, Nanaimo, the Thompson-Okanagan and one hosted by the B.C. Liberal Indigenous Network.

Notícias recomendadas

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.