Rajya Sabha polls: Congress plays caste card in its nominations from Karnataka

Parties announce candidates: RS polls on Mar.23

Parties announce candidates: RS polls on Mar.23

A delegation of senior party leaders, including Union ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Piyush Goyal, went to the Commission tonight, seeking action against Rathwa and PK Valera, a Congress-backed independent candidate.

"No Dues Certificate issued to Naren Rathwa by Parliament was released at 3:30 pm yesterday". He then joined the Congress party, and subsequently quit in September 2017 to float his own party, the Maharashtra Swabhiman Paksh, and declared support to the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Accusing the BJP of playing "lowly game" in the past as well, Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala said Rathwa's nomination was "absolutely correct".

Ruling out support to B.M. Farooq of the JD (S) for the third Rajya Sabha seat from the State, the Congress has made a decision to field AICC Spokesperson Syed Naseer Hussain, former Chairman of KUWS&DB G.C. Chandrashekar, and former MLC L. Hanumanthaiah. The Returning Officer eventually ruled in Rathwa's favour and accepted his nomination form.

The term of four members of the Upper House - Rajiv Chandrashekar (Independent), Rahman Khan (Congress), Basavaraj Patil Sedam and R Ramakrishna (Both BJP) - would get ended on April 2, 2018. "Earlier also BJP played this lowly game during Ahmed Patel ji's election and now again, but Rathwa ji's nomination is absolutely correct and he will win comfortably", Surjewala said.

The BJP's complaint today followed its whip Suresh Angadi's complaint to the Lok Sabha Speaker, alleging?gross irregularities? in granting several no objection certificates given to Rathwa.

Farook of the JD (S) has already filed his nomination papers.

Senior Congress leader Shaktisinh Gohil told the media: "In the end, it is Satyameva Jayate (victory for truth)".

The BJP has fielded Union ministers Purshottam Rupala and Mansukh Mandavia, apart from former MLA Kiritsinh Rana.

"The objections raised by the BJP during the scrutiny process of our Rajya Sabha candidates lack substance".

G.C. Chandrashekar is presently the General Secretary of the KPCC. "He has also not mentioned serious allegations in his affidavit", Gujarat BJP president Jitu Vaghani said.

In the 182-member House, the ruling BJP has 99 MLAs while the opposition Congress 77. Each candidate requires 44 votes in the 224 Member Assembly.

Notícias recomendadas

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.