Tropical storm warning dropped as Hector passes south of Big Isle

Map of Central Pacific region

Map of Central Pacific region

The National Ocean and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) has issued an 11pm update on the path of Hurricane hector as it swirls and moves towards Hawaii's Big Island.

At 11 a.m. EDT (5 a.m. HST/1500 UTC), the center of Hurricane Hector was located near latitude 16.4 degrees north and longitude 153.9 degrees west.

Hurricane-force winds will extend outward up to 40 miles (65km) from the centre and tropical-storm-force winds will extend up to 115 miles (185km).

The tropical storm warning for the Big Island has been canceled, as Hurricane Hector passes south of the island as a strong Category 3 hurricane. At the peak of the speed of the Hector reached 120 km per hour.

Hurricane Hector has maximum sustained winds of 130 miles per hour (215 kph) with stronger gusts possible. Some slight weakening is forecast during the next couple of days.

A Tropical Storm Warning means tropical storm conditions are expected somewhere within the warning area. Nevertheless, an outer rain band and some gusty winds could make it to the southern edge of the island through Friday.

Interests on Johnston Island should monitor the progress of Hector.

Forecasters with the National Weather Service say surf will rise 12 to 15 feet along east shores of the Big Island, and 6 to 10 feet along east shores of Maui.

"Hector is expected to pass far enough to the south so that no important wind issues are expected to impact the Big Island", AccuWeather Hurricane Expert Dan Kottlowski said.

Notícias recomendadas

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.